OS X “open” command

by

Today I used the “open” command in the OS X CLI to launch an app via SSH. Very slick. But there was a catch.

The app I wanted to launch was EvoCam, which is the software I use to run my Webcam. After running AppleJack and restarting the server last night, I neglected to restart EvoCam. I got an e-mail this morning letting me know that the camera appeared to be down.

I haven’t registered EvoCam yet, which means at startup it flashes a popup window prompting me to register. I have to click through it, which I can’t do via SSH. So at lunch I sat down and clicked through the popup, and now all is well. I gotta get around to registering that software.

Leave a Reply

