Magic # = $4078.00

by

I told you I was going to do it.  Well, I did.

Since February 2004, we’ve spent $4,078.00 U.S. pesos to keep our 1998 Volvo V70 XC Wagon on the road.  I’m no auto mechanic, but this just seems a bit…exorbitant to me.

It might be funny if we didn’t have a new mouth to feed.

No.  It wouldn’t be funny even then. 

4 Responses to “Magic # = $4078.00”

  1. Danny Says:

    Ah, the Volvo. My first car was a Volvo. 1982 Volvo Turbo sedan, the boxy one with the four square headlights. It was gold-colored. I bought it in 1990, and I got lots of tickets in the thing… it rattled and heaved until you hit 80 mph, then it smoothed out and rode beautifully.

    I paid something like $4500 for it, and easily spent that much in repairs during its two remaining years of life. I killed it on the New Jersey Turnpike, when a coolant hose blew and the engine overheated. I limped to a rest area, and turned off the engine without cooling it down, cracking the cyclinders and fusing a piston or two. A volvo mechanic bought it off of me for $400.

    But I did love that car.

  2. nicheplayer Says:

    I pulled up behind a 240 the other day and was almost brought to tears. It looked like it’d just been driven off the showroom floor.

    I won’t lie. I’ve always liked the V70 XC’s looks. It’s always seemed like a good-looking way to carry a lot of crap down the road without driving a truck. And I’ve confirmed that impression over the last two years.

    It drives a bit like a Jeep around town, but once you get ‘er up to cruising speed on the interstate, it rides like a Mercedes. I rarely sit in the back seats, but the times I’ve had have been a real treat; it’s one comfy car.

    I don’t get into naming cars, but were I pressed to put a name to this Volvo, it would be “Puta.”

  3. Danny Says:

    Heh. You said puta.

  4. KBD Says:

    I’m not going to lie, I’ve seen quite a few V70 XCs at the local Import Auto clinic. Then again, I’ve seen a lot of Volvos driving around from the era that Danny has mentioned.. Really old lookin’ tanks that just keep on going and going and going… Maybe you should trade in the 1998 for a 1988?

Leave a Reply

