Paging Canon. Canon. It’s CES….

by

I’d love to see some new hardware from Canon at this year’s CES.  Maybe they’ve released enough this year that they don’t have any surprises left for this show.  I sure wouldn’t mind finally replacing my A70.

4 Responses to “Paging Canon. Canon. It’s CES….”

  1. Danny Says:

    Well, if you’re swinging an A70 you’re probably not interested, but I abso-freaking-lutely love my Canon SD500. Pictures are beautiful (our Cafepress calendars are gorgeous now) and the movie mode hands-down beats my handycam for convenience, and doesn’t fare too poorly quality-wise.

  2. nicheplayer Says:

    Actually, the model that’s presently enchanting me is the S2 IS. Dell Home was selling it not too long ago for something like $372, which is a deal good enough to make your eyes bleed.

    But I do agree, the Canon Digital Elphs are fantastic cameras. I love the size, and the speed, and I really appreciate the large screen on the newer models. Also, you’re right: The movie mode on these things totally obviates the need for a separate video camera for everyone who’s not shooting feature-length films. My wife is always telling me to go grab our Optura to catch cute footage of the baby, and I’m like, “just grab the A70.”

    The S2 IS is supposed to have a market-leading movie mode. It’s a tad big, but it’s no DSLR. The review on dpreview is a love song.

  3. nicheplayer Says:

    Frankly, I’d be happy with some more manual controls on the SD500. But I know that’s not what those units are supposed to be for.

    What I love about the S2 IS is the level of manual control, the IS (which is supposed to be fantastic), the zoom, and the 0″ macro distance.

    Of course I’d have to make the jump from CF to SD for memory, but that’s not a deal breaker.

  4. Danny Says:

    The one on dcresource isn’t bad either (of course, Jeff Keller loves his Canons). Still, that was seven months ago. Shouldn’t we be able to hope for an S3 IS by now?

    Or is that what you meant by hoping Canon had something to exhibit at CES?

Leave a Reply

